Driving Guide for Teens
Hey Sparkles! Happy New Year! I am writing today about the requirements for driving in the state of Georgia and the requirements to get a Georgia driver’s license. As it turns out, it’s a lot more complicated than you might think.
I am writing about this topic for a couple of reasons. Firstly, because I am having to figure this out for myself. Secondly, because I don’t want anyone else to have to blindly jump through all the hoops.
To properly introduce the process, I am going to start with the law that requires teens to complete the Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) Program. The name of the law is the Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA.) TADRA is a comprehensive set of laws enacted in 1997 with the intent of reducing fatal motor vehicle crashes involving teenage drivers. According to the Centers for Disease Controle and Prevention (CDC), motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for US teens, accounting for more than one in three deaths in this age group.
Basically, it is a three-step GDL process for newly licensed drivers 15 to 18 years old. The first step is the Instructional Permit (Class CP). A Georgia Instructional Permit is granted to persons at least 15 years of age who complete a written examination. The second step is the Georgia Provisional License. It is granted to persons 16 to 18 years of age. They must have held an Instructional Permit for 12 months and 1 day, and not gotten any major traffic violations. Also, they must complete ADAP, the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program, pass a road test, and complete the requirements of Joshua’s Law.
Joshua’s Law is a law that states all persons ages 15-16 must complete a driver’s education course, including 30 hours of classroom education and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training with an instructor. They must also have completed 40 hours of supervised driving experience with a parent or guardian.
I was looking up the Joshua’s Law requirements, and I saw there were different driving schools in my area offering teen driver’s education. One of the schools in particular, A-1 Driving School, offers a grant scholarship. So I thought to myself, I should apply for that scholarship and see if they pick me. So I filled in my email address and phone number, and went about my merry way. Anyway, about a month later, I got an email from them saying I had qualified for the scholarship! So I spent some time calling different driving schools and I ended up going to A-1 Driving School. The best part about it is I got the entire $430 class for free! All because I took a risk and applied for a scholarship.
~End of Story Time~
The Provisional License allows a teenager to drive without an adult, but not have complete freedom just yet. For instance, teens with a Class D license may not drive between the hours of midnight and five o’clock in the morning, with no exceptions. Additionally, during the first six months, only immediate family may ride with the licensed teen. During the second six months, only one teen passenger who is not immediate family may ride with the teen. Finally, after those two sets of six months are up, no more than three teen passengers who are not immediate family may ride with the driver.
The final step of the TADRA GDL process is the full Class C license. You can get that license after having your Provisional (Class D) License for a year and a day, having no major traffic violations during that period of time.
Well, that’s all for today, Sparkles. Be sure to check out my t-shirts for sale on Amazon. Sparkles away!!!